Monday, December 12, 2016

Christiano Ronaldo Wins 2016 Ballon d’Or

Cristiano Ronaldo crowned a memorable year by being named the world's best player for a fourth time when he won the 2016 Ballon d'Or on Monday night.

Christiano Ronaldo Wins Fourth Ballon d’Or Title
Cristiano Ronaldo poses with the Ballon d'Or
The 31-year-old Portugal and Real Madrid foward topped the poll of 173 journalists worldwide.

Ronaldo played a crucial role as Real beat city rivals Atletico Madrid in May to become European champions for a record-extending 11th time.

The prolific forward, who previously lifted the prestigious prize in 2008, 2013 and 2014, has enjoyed arguably the most successful year of his illustrious career, winning the Champions League with Real Madrid before captaining Portugal to European Championship glory in France.

Messi, who boasts a record five Ballons d'Or but finished second this time out, helped Barcelona win a domestic double last season but his dream of leading Argentina to a major international title was dashed by a penalty-shootout loss to Chile in the final of the Copa America.

As for third-placed Griezmann, the 24-year-old attacker fired both Atletico Madrid and France to the finals of the Champions League and Euro 2016 respectively, but he suffered the agony of defeat on both occasions.

Ballon d'Or 2016 final rankings:
  1. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  4. Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
  5. Neymar (Barcelona)
  6. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
  7. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
  8. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
  9. Pepe (Real Madrid)
  10. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
  12. Rui Patricio (Sporting CP)
  13. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)
  14. Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)
  15. Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
  16. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  17. Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
  18. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  19. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
No votes: Koke (Atletico Madrid), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid).

Do you think Christiano Ronaldo deserved to win the Ballon d’Or? Share your thoughts and comments by commenting below.


Post a Comment